Inspiration

“All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.” -T.E. Lawrence
Inspiration can really come from anything. In my particular case a few different elements come into play to spawn my creativity. First off I’m an only child. Sure I didn’t have to fight my siblings for anything, but I also spent a great deal of my childhood alone. In a lot of ways this sucked, but in a few ways it really helped. I walked away with a very honed imagination, the ability to day-dream vividly and a passion for reading and writing.
Before I even hit middle school I was reading books like “Gone with the Wind.” In fact I wrote a book report on it in fifth grade that I used every year until I graduated. And I haven’t slowed down yet. According to my Nook, which will have been with me for two years this May, I have surpassed 300 books some time ago. And that’s not counting the regular books I’ve read either these past two years. Reading and writing has always been my escape from reality.
I can plop my mind into the story of my favorite books anytime, anywhere. I can become a heroine in a zombie infested land, a fairy with a hot vampire Viking boyfriend, an accident prone bounty hunter or the queen of the underworld. But writing expands that for me ten-fold. Now I get to decide what happens, what I want to hear. And it’s massively fun to write about things you would never dare attempt in real life. 

Leave a Reply

