Learning Curve

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” Richard Bach

I’m not sure at what point a writer crosses from amateur territory into professional. I realize talent and skill takes years to cultivate, but I truly do not believe that we ever stop learning these things. Am I a better writer than I was a year ago? Five years ago? I sure hope so! I’m certainly trying πŸ™‚

If I can be proud of anything when it comes to my writing it can certainly be my tenacity. And perhaps stubbornness, if they’re not one in the same. No answer to a query letter? Then self-publish! And KEEP WRITING! Nobody can stop the growth of a writer other than themselves.

Does this make me a professional writer? I’m really not sure. I have published works…and I’ve improved over the years, but I guess the reality is I still consider myself an amateur. Maybe an amateur professional if there can be such a thing. I have come a long way, but I still have a long way to go. Thankfully I like to think I have the stubborn tenacity to get there.

One thought on “Learning Curve

  1. Professional or amateur… we will learn a little more every day. Practice makes perfect! I absolutely agree that we as writers are the only ones that can stop our own growth. KEEP WRITING! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

