The Rollarcoaster That is Self-Publishing

If you’ve done it, then you know exactly what I’m talking about. When I decided to pursue my dream to become a successful author I didn’t realize I was also going to become an editor, formatter, publisher, marketer, and cover design artist. I’m just grateful to have the option to self-publish at all.

In the grand scheme of things our current generation of authors are extremely lucky. We are basically making history and turning the publishing world around, setting a new standard controlled by writers and readers. It’s definitely something to be proud of.

The hardest part of being an independent author? For me personally, its switching gears. I don’t really mind all of the steps, although I would prefer to dedicate all of my time to actually writing. And after a day of technical formatting one’s creativity tends to plummet to non-existence.

A close second to switching from one SP task to the next is the waiting. Your so excited to get something done, you throw it out there, and you wait. And wait…and I think you get the point.

Overall the journey has been great, the hours long but the gratification immeasurable. So rock on Indie Authors! We got this!

Leave a Reply

