Writing Process Blog Tour

writing blog hop pic

I was asked to participate in this blog by Author Thomas Kleaton—a brilliant mastermind of all things horrific. We “met” online about a year ago through a writing website (Writer’s Carnival) and became fast friends. I’m still waiting for him to let me compile his work into an anthology and get to finishing his novel! (Nudge, nudge.)
You can read all about Author Thomas Kleaton and his writing here: http://thomaskleaton.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/writing-process-blog-tour/

What am I working on?
That’s a whopper of a question right at this moment. I have about six different things screaming at me to get out. Two of them are the last books in my series, one is a spinoff of one of the series, and the other three are new standalones. The one to hold the bulk of my time this summer? Eclipsed Agony will follow the story of a young woman’s battle against invisible illness. My hopes are to spread awareness while entertaining readers. Following that will be Soul Decisions, the third book in my Decisions Series. Wired will follow, the (sniffle) end of my Electric Series and will be a HUGE wrap up. Don’t You Cry, Doesn’t Play Well With Others and my untitled spinoff will follow in 2015.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?
I really strive for originality. I take the things I see and twist them all around until eventually (usually in the middle of the night when I have to scramble for a pen) it makes sense. To me, anyway, at which point I hope it remains cohesive to others too. My best examples are:
My Electric Series: I wanted to do an apocalypse but wanted it to be different. I discovered the Grey Goo Theory and the nanobot apocalypse was born. The fact that it fit perfectly with my scheme of having Kat be charged with electricity made me believe it was meant to be. From there, Kat and her adventure took on a life of its own.
My Decisions Series: Paranormal border lining on fantasy. Mostly because Lettie is paranormal but her journey’s will take you into the fantasy created within my mind. My own versions of good and bad, angels and demons, and heaven and hell.

Why do I write what I do?
Hmm…I feel like I should lie back on a sofa. I could get into a gazillion different things that inspire me (books, music, life, movies, comics, videogames, motherhood, wife-hood, basically everything.) Those aside I guess it boils down to two reasons. 1) I was an only child and as a result have a wonderfully overactive imagination. 2) Perhaps this is the most important: I write what I do because it makes me happy.

How does my writing process work?
If I had to slap a label on it, I’d call it eclectic. I’m an incredibly organized fly by the seat of my pants writer. Which means all over the place, but it works for me. I’ll set out an outline and then ignore it completely. I get an idea and let it tell me the story. Sometimes it takes its sweet ass time, others it’s hard for me to keep up. I always enjoy the ride. Anyone who thinks authors make characters have it ALL wrong. It’s actually the opposite, we authors are their slaves.
Thanks everyone for your time ❤ you can find out all about my books at caseyharvell.com and get your hands on an ecopy of Charged free on all e-platforms.

Next Blog Hop Spot??
Meet Cathy Brockman!
Cathy is retired, living in a unique dome house in the Bootheel with her Hubbie, dog Molly and a brood of kitties. Since her children are grown, Cathy enjoys spoiling the grandies. Since she has always been a dreamer and hopeless romantic, she devotes her time to writing about all the sexy sweet romances floating about in her head. Cathy is also a voracious reader and will take any opportunity to sneak in a few chapters

You can find Cathy here: http://cathybrockmanromances.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Writing Process Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

